Preface

National Conference on Machines and Mechanisms (NaCoMM) is a biennial occasion, under the auspices of the Association for Machines and Mechanisms, in which participants from academia, industry and R & D organisations interact and share their experiences. This conference is an attraction for many new as well as seasoned authors of technical papers as it covers a spectrum of different areas. The conference is hosted by institutes and organisations of national importance. Mechanical Engineering Department of IIT Guwahati is very glad to host this prestigious conference in its 12th edition. Though IIT Guwahati is relatively a new institute, it has already hosted other national and international conferences as it has developed minimum infrastructure required for such activities.

The papers included in this proceedings have gone through two stages of peer review. Originally 112 extended abstracts were submitted, out of which 84 were selected. However, in the second stage 80 papers were submitted and 67 were accepted for oral presentation as well as for publication in the proceedings. Finally authors of 64 papers registered and these papers are included in addition to the Keynote address and two invited lectures.

Two eminent personalities Prof Amalendu Mukherjee and Dr Amitav Sur are felicitated during the conference for their contributions towards the area of Machines and Mechanisms, who have also agreed to deliver invited lectures. Besides Prof M Ceccarelli, Secretary General of IFToMM, has readily agreed to deliver the keynote address when contacted. The organizing committee would like to offer heartfelt thanks to all of them.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andrés Kecskeméthy, Editor-In-Chief, Mechanism and Machine Theory, has kindly consented to publish few papers from among those presented in NaCoMM 2005 after another stage of peer review in an issue of Mechanism and Machine Theory. We thank the Editor-In-Chief in advance for the kind gesture.

We are particularly indebted to Dr Sudipto Mukherjee of IIT Delhi, Prof. Ashitava Ghosal of IISC Bangalore, Prof B C Majumdar of IIT Kharagpur, Dr S K Dwivedi, Dr U S Dixit, Dr D Chakraborty, Mr Mohan Borah, Mr S K Laha of IIT Guwahati and Mr P K Medhi for their help in organizing the conference. Last but not the least, the organizing committee would like to offer its thanks to all the reviewers, sponsors and the administration of IIT Guwahati without whose support, it would not have been possible to publish this proceedings.